Setting sun, Reine

Summer sunset, Reine, Lofoten

 

 

I have visited the Lofoten islands in North Norway on several occasions, both summer and winter, for photography. Being born and raised, and lived a substantial part of my life in North Norway, I am fairly familiar with the landscape and pretty much know what to expect. However, in this part of the world, the weather is extremely unpredictable, so basically you don’t know what you get until after you have been there. Forecasts are nothing but weak guidelines at best. On my last winter-visit a couple of years ago I had snowstorm, rain, freezing could, and bright sunshine, all in one day! So, I pretty much don’t know what to expect from my next trip in february, but I hope for the best. I would of course hope for some clear skies to catch some nightscapes with stars and some aurora-shots, but you’ll never know. Anyway, the landscape itself is so amazing with wonderful mountains raising more or less straight from the sea, so I feel pretty confident that I will be back with at least a few keepers. In the meantime I’m posting this classic scene from the small fishing village of Reine in Lofoten, captured only a couple of hours before midnight in june 2013. Hope you like it!

Dag Ole

 

 

Leave a Reply

