Bavarian Forest

Bavarian forest

 

Before I go on a photography-tour, I always have a few photographs in my mind. Before my recent trip to Bavaria I had planned to capture some images from German forests, in addition to the obvious mountainscapes. I had a weak conception of straight, tall trees over a colorful autumn forest floor and I was hoping for some fog. This day I drove down from my base camp in Garmisch-Partenkirchen to the lower areas to the north. These areas are mostly agricultural, but when I followed the smaller roads, I now and then passed a dense forest. The skies were grey and dull, which is perfect for forest-photography, and after a while, a rain shower hit the lowlands. Moisture gives the foliage extra saturation, so the conditions were ideal. I stopped numerous times to photograph, and the initial impression was that I probably had a few OK images. On my way back to Garmisch later the same afternoon, I found a larger forested area close to Ammersee. I parked my car and wandered around in the woods for a couple of hours, struggling somewhat with finding a good composition. On my way back to the car, this beautiful yellow tree with the winding path next to it caught my attention and I worked here for a few minutes. As I sat down with the post-processing later the same evening, this image slowly emerged. Of numerous captures from the German forests, this is probably the one that came closest to what I hoped for. Hope you like it too. Have a splendid weekend!

This is a new release in my gallery: nordhaugphotography.com

Leave a Reply

